You cannot fight the world alone.

I see myself as a person of principle. All through the years growing up, I learned and tried to understand the world, the people… life. As I was aging, I picked up these ideas, these beliefs that molded me as a person and that I now stand up for. Maybe it was the way I was raised that made me like this – caring and not indifferent. I was taught not to be selfish, and right now I am not a fan of self-interest. I have always believed that we are given the opportunity to live not for own but for others, for a bigger purpose. As I am maturing, building up inside me is this feeling, this desire to change the world, to make it a better place. I want to make my life useful, to have an impact, to make a difference. I want to do so many things, sometimes it aches me that I can only do so much.

And in my absorption to this obsession, I didn’t realize that there are other people around me who were striving for the same causes, who are making noises louder than what I am making. I only had to be open to the world, open to others, to get into the crowd pushing for the changes I wanted to make. There are still a lot of apathetic people, but today I can see that more people are growing concerned for the society, for the environment, for a better and sustainable life.

I am only one person but I am not alone. Many are also fighting the same battle I am in. I know that now. In the midst the social, political, and environmental adversities in this muddled world, I still hold on to the hope for a better humanity. And if we continue to march, arm in arm, together towards the change we are aspiring for, and if we keep our hands and minds open to others who want to join in, we may have a chance of winning.

Leave a Reply

